Rock Feeder

Archive for October, 2011

Earache Records Are Giving Away A FREE SAMPLER ALBUM of Ear-aching Metal Tracks

by on Oct.17, 2011, under Metal Music News

Earache Records are giving away a FREE  sampler album containing the following bands:

* Rival Sons
* Evile
* White Wizzard
* Savage Messiah
* Cauldron
* Diamond Plate
* The Browning
* Wormrot
* Cerebral Bore
* The Soulless
* Hour Of 13
* Woods Of Ypres

All you have to do is download the EARACHE winter catalogue (pdf document) and you will then need to enter your email address to have access to over 100mb of screaming earache metal!

To do this MAD CHORE!  follow this link

Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

Win A Free VIP Pass To Metal Hammer Show

by on Oct.17, 2011, under Metal Music News

Win a pair of VIP tickets to see MALEFICE for the 2011 upcoming Metal Hammer 25th Anniversary show and hang out with the band..

frontman DALE BUTLER says..

‘The very reason we make music is for people to lose their shit to it live, and whenever we’re given an opportunity to meet those people we grab it with both hands. Our good friends at Metal Hammer have given us the opportunity to spend some time with some of you guys at The O2 Islington Academy for the 25th Birthday Bash, so for your chance to win 1 of 3 pairs of VIP entries, one of which will win a pair of very special VIP passes, come hang with the band before the show and maybe even have a chance at seeing the sound check, send us your craziest pic with a T shirt, album or from a show to our facebook at and show us why you party harder than everyone else.’

Due to the event this is an 18+ only competition.

MALEFICE have announced they will play two very special shows in October. Reading outfit have been added to the bill of the Metal Hammer 25th birthday pary in London along with Orange Goblin, Dirty DC and more to be announced. Tickets are at a 1986 price of £2.50!

A week later they join Skindred, Therapy? Rolo Tomassi, Yashin and The Treatment at the Jagermeister ‘Ice Cold In Birmingham’ special on the 31st.

Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

Dan Mangan Release New Album ‘Oh Fortune’ also download Free Track Post War Blues

by on Oct.12, 2011, under Rock Music News

Dan Mangan new album Oh Fortune, also joins the City Slang label.

Following numerous European jaunts, tours with The Walkmen, The Decemberists and Okkervil River, playing for Wills & Kate on their recent trip to Canada, award nominations and appearances at Glastonbury and End of the Road, Dan Mangan has joined City Slang. The Vancouver-based song smith will be releasing his captivating new album ‘Oh Fortune’ in the UK on December 5th.
You can download and hear ‘Post War Blues’  here:

Already a highly regarded Polaris Prize nominee in his home land, his mark on the UK thus far has been fleeting but impressively well received and the release of this new record a statement of intent. Ambitious and textured, ‘Oh Fortune’ sees Mangan pull away from the world of alt-folk, observational anthems that its predecessor ‘Nice, Nice, Very Nice’ encapsulated, allowing the music to swell up into waves of full orchestration and with the help of free-jazz experimentalists and Seattle’s Eyvind Kangarrangements developed into luscious walls of sound, sweeping and flowing throughout the album.Post War Blues’ is the perfect introduction to the album, and proves that Mangan has much more to give than ‘Nice, Nice, Very Nice’ suggested.

“Hugely impressive… An album of songs with wry, razor-sharp, self-observational lyrics and arrangements that are deceptively complex. ****” The Times

Despite the change in direction, ‘Oh Fortune‘ never strays far from what Mangan believes is ultimately “him”.
The  last  record  did  far  more  than  I  or  anyone  else  thought  it  would…  I felt  like  we stumbled by accident onto something that people liked. I feel now that if we tried to recreate  something  that  already  worked,  I  wouldn’t  like  it…  and  then  they  wouldn’t like  it  either,”  Dan  muses,  “it  has  to  be  sincere,  and  relevant,  and  whatever  we’re feeling right now.”
Anthemic calls to arms such as ‘Post War Blues’ and ‘How Darwinian’ do just that. Reflecting how Mangan is feeling now, and continuing the themes of isolation and desperation that are raised by tracks such as ‘Rows of Houses’, the rich instrumentation and the positivity of the album’s title spawned from Dan’s reflection of a ticker‐tape parade in the US in 1926 balance out the morbid streams of thought.
Oh Fortune‘ debates melancholy while it anticipates incredible moments of glory and victory, as the title’s background suggests. It’s not sad, it’s simply honest. Life is just that.
Visit Dan’s website for your FREE copy of Post War Blues for download:
Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

New Yorks Experimental Progressive Metal Outfit ‘3’ Release Album THE GHOST YOU GAVE TO ME

by on Oct.12, 2011, under Rock Music News

New Yorks progressive metal band ‘3’ have released their eagerly anticipated album ‘The Ghost You Gave to Me’, the band have also release a video single ‘Numbers’ from the album, which you can watch below.. This is the band’s sixth studio album since 1999 and is a massive step forward for the group. The 3 trademarks are intact – many musical peaks and valleys, bright and uplifting chorus’s alongside dark and heavy passages powered by Gartdrumm’s aggressive drumming and the acoustic/electric guitar duo of Joey Eppard and Billy Riker. The Ghost You Gave to Me is 3 at their most inspired.

In other 3 news, the band has confirmed that they will be touring North America this Fall as direct support to Cynic. The tour kicks off November 3rd in West Chester, Pennsylvania and wraps up November 23rd in Hollywood, CA at the Key Club. The second night of the tour sees 3 appearing as part of the Metal SuckFest.

Album cover from the album  The Ghost You Gave To Me

The Ghost You Gave To Me album cover

The Ghost You Gave to Me track listing:
1. Sirenum Scopuli
2. React
3. Sparrow
4. High Times
5. Numbers
6. One With the Sun
7. The Ghost You Gave to Me
8. Pretty
9. Afterglow
10. It’s Alive
11. Only Child
12. The Barrier

Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

Irish Rockers THE ANSWER New Album REVIVAL Has Now Been Released

by on Oct.11, 2011, under Rock Music News

Northern Irish Rockers THE ANSWER have released their new album REVIVAL has now been released, you can check out the album on Spotify Here, below you can listen to the track Piece by Piece as well as download for FREE.. top dog !! check it out

Check out The Answer for tour dates on the bands website

Leave a Comment :, , , , more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!


A few highly recommended websites...